Setting the Default Save As Location in Home Designer Pro

Reference Number: KB-00318
Last Modified: July 16, 2015

The information in this article applies to:

Home Designer Professional


When I am ready to save a file, I want it to default to the same location every time, rather than to the last folder that was opened. How can I do this?


In Home Designer Pro it is possible to set a default save location that will open when you save a plan for the first time.

To set a default Save As location

  1. Click on the Edit menu at the top of the screen and select Preferences .

    If working on a Mac computer Preferences is located in the Home Designer menu.

  2. Select and expand the General panel. Click on New Plans.

  3. Under the Open/Save As Directory box, place a bullet next to the phrase Use This Folder


  4. Using the Browse button, set the path for the desired location of where you would like your plans saved then click OK.