Resetting Preferences


Reference Number: KB-00351
Last Modified: March 19, 2020

The information in this article applies to:

Home Designer Professional or Home Designer Architectural or Home Designer Suite



QUESTION

I have made several modifications to my preferences. How do I reset them?


ANSWER

Please note that resetting the preferences can be a drastic step if you have made any previous changes, and should be done with caution.


To reset your preferences

  1. Launch your Home Designer program and select File> New Plan .  


  2. Select Edit> Preferences if you're on a Windows PC or Home Designer> Preferences if you're on a Mac.


  3. On the Reset Options panel of the Preferences dialog that displays, click on the Reset Preferences button.

    Click on the Reset Preferences button located on theReset Options panel of the Preferences dialog



  4. In the Question dialog that appears, click Yes to restore all preferences to those that originally came with the program.

    Click Yes in the Question dialog to confirm that you want to reset the preferences


    If message boxes have been suppressed, you can make them display again by clicking Reset Message Boxes


  5. For the reset to take effect, you will need to restart the program. This will be mentioned in an additional Information dialog. Click OK, and select File> Exit if you're on a Windows PC or Home Designer> Quit Home Designer if you're on a Mac to completely close out of the program.


  6. The next time that you launch the Home Designer software, your preferences will be reset.